Home News Elaine Thompson nominated for World Athlete of the Year award

Elaine Thompson nominated for World Athlete of the Year award

Jamaica's Elaine Thompson-Herah, runs to win the Women's 100m at the IAAF Diamond League in Doha, Qatar, Friday, Sept. 25, 2020. (AP Photo/Hussein Sayed)

Olympic double sprint champion Elaine Thompson-Herah has been named in the shortlist of 10 athletes set to battle for the World Athletics Female Athlete of the Year award.

World Athletics announced the list of athletes on Tuesday.

The Jamaican had a solid 2020 season despite the challenges that the global COVID-19 pandemic presented.

She is undefeated in seven 100m race this season and finished the season as the fastest woman in the world.

Thompson-Herah finished out the season with a dominant display at the Diamond League meet in Doha on Friday, September 25. The Jamaican sprint star posted a time of 10.87 to see off the challenges of Ivory Coast’s Marie-Josee Ta Lou (11.21) and Kayla White of the USA.

That performance follows the world-leading time of 10.85 she set a week before at the Diamond League meeting in Rome and represents a huge turnaround for an athlete whose struggles with injury saw her withdraw from the 2019 World Championships in Doha.

Thompson-Herah was a finalist for the award in 2016 when she won Olympic gold in both the 100m and 200m in Rio de Janeiro and also boasts world leads in both events with times of 10.70 and 21.78 respectively. She was the Diamond Race winner in the 100m that year.

Ethiopian long-distance runner Almaz Ayana won the female award that year, while Usain Bolt took the male title.

There are three Kenyan shortlisted. Half Marathon world champion and record holder Peres Jepchirchir, Olympic 1500m champion Faith Kipyegon and world 5,000m champion Hellen Obiri.

No Kenyan female athlete has ever won the award and the trio who have had successful seasons will look to erase that piece of history by battling the seven other global superstars.

This week marks the opening of the voting process.

The nominees for 2020 Female World Athlete of the Year are (in alphabetical order):

Femke Bol, Netherlands
– undefeated in six 400m hurdles races
– ran a world-leading 53.79 in the 400m hurdles

Letesenbet Gidey, Ethiopia
– set a world record of 14:06.62 over 5000m
– was second in the Monaco Diamond League over 5000m

Sifan Hassan, Netherlands
– set a world record of 18,930m in the one hour run
– set a European record of 29:36.67 over 10,000m, the fourth-fastest performance in history

Peres Jepchirchir, Kenya
– won the world half marathon title
– twice broke the world half-marathon record for a women-only race (1:05:34 and 1:05:16)

Faith Kipyegon, Kenya
– undefeated in five races over all distances
– ran world-leading performances over 800m (1:57.68) and 1000m (2:29.15)

Laura Muir, Great Britain and Northern Ireland
– undefeated in three 1500m races
– ran a world-leading 3:57.40 over 1500m

Hellen Obiri, Kenya
– undefeated in three races over 3000m and 5000m
– ran a world-leading 8:22.54 over 3000m

Yulimar Rojas, Venezuela
– undefeated in four triple jump competitions indoors and outdoors
– broke the world indoor triple jump record with 15.43m

Elaine Thompson-Herah, Jamaica
– undefeated in seven 100m races
– ran world-leading 10.85 over 100m

Ababel Yeshaneh, Ethiopia
– broke the world record in the half marathon with 1:04:31
– finished fifth at the World Athletics Half Marathon Championships

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The World Athletics Council and the World Athletics Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the World Athletics’ social media platforms. Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram this week; a ‘like’ on Facebook and Instagram or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote.

The World Athletics Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the World Athletics Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting for the Female World Athlete of the Year closes at midnight on Sunday,  November 15. At the conclusion of the voting process, five men and five women finalists will be announced by World Athletics.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live at the World Athletics Awards 2020 on Saturday,  December 5.

The nominees for the 2020 Male World Athletes of the Year were announced on Monday.

The male nominees are (in alphabetical order):

Donavan Brazier, USA
– ran world-leading 800m times indoors (1:44.22, North American indoor record) and outdoors (1:43.15)
– won all seven of his races over all distances

Joshua Cheptegei, Uganda
– broke world records at 5000m (12:35.36), 10,000m (26:11.00) and 5km on the roads (12:51)
– was fourth at the World Athletics Half Marathon Championships on his debut over the distance

Timothy Cheruiyot, Kenya
– ran world-leading 3:28.45 over 1500m
– undefeated in three 1500m races

Ryan Crouser, USA
– undefeated in 10 shot put competitions
– his 22.91m world-leading performance moved him to equal third on the world all-time list

Mondo Duplantis, Sweden
– broke the world record in the pole vault twice (6.17m and 6.18m) and produced the highest outdoor vault of all time (6.15m)
– undefeated in 16 competitions

Jacob Kiplimo, Uganda
– won world half marathon title in a championship record of 58:49
– ran a world-leading 7:26.64 over 3000m, the fastest time in the world since 2007

Noah Lyles, USA
– undefeated in five finals
– ran a world-leading 19.76 over 200m

Daniel Stahl, Sweden
– won 17 of his 19 discus competitions
– threw a world-leading 71.37m

Johannes Vetter, Germany
– won eight of his nine javelin competitions
– threw a world-leading 97.76m, the second farthest throw in history

Karsten Warholm, Norway
– ran a world-leading 46.87 in the 400m hurdles, the second fastest performance in history
– undefeated in nine 400m/400m hurdles races and set world best of 33.78 in 300m hurdles